Four Continents of the World

north america

Four Continents of the World

North America is a very large continent, which is in fact a single land mass. It is bordered on three sides by the American continents and on two by the Canadian arctic land mass. North America consists of four separate continents – east-west, north-south and midland-west. It is believed that North America actually split into seven continental units before the ice-age. The country we know today as the United States of America emerged out of the American continents.

North America can be considered the largest continent-wide inland ocean in the world. It is also the second most populous continent in the world with an estimated population of over 14 million. North America covers about 70% of the surface of the earth’s surface. It is also the fifth largest continent in terms of total land mass.

North America experiences various climate changes. Some areas are cold and arid while other places are tropical and have hot summers and winters. The continent experiences a warm and humid atmosphere everywhere except for the coastal areas. The coastal areas are usually very rainy and therefore have lush plant and animal life.

Most of North America is mountainous with most of it being under mountain ranges. The most important mountain range in North America is the Rocky Mountains, which stretches from the continental divide to the Pacific Ocean. Other high mountains include the Sierra Nevada, Teton Trail, Black Canyon, and many others.

The most diverse continent is Central America. It is made up of different countries such as Costa Rica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Honduras, Arizona, El Salvador and Cuba. Because Central America is a volcanic area, it is a country that has to take special precautions when dealing with volcanoes. Many volcanoes are active and produce lava during an eruption. This lava is then used to build roads or other structures in the region.

The rainforests of Central America are a very important habitat for an array of wildlife species. The continent of North America also contains many islands such as St. Lucia, St. Maarten, and Barbados. It is home to the largest coral reef in the world, which is also referred to as the Caribbean. It is a very unique and amazing place to visit.

The most arid part of the continent of North America is the southwestern part or desert. This part of the continent does not have too much rainfall or moisture, so it relies on the sands to hold its moisture. The dry climate of the southwestern portion of the continent also means there are fewer plants and animals. The lack of vegetation makes it easy for desert wildlife to thrive. They use the sand to nourish themselves and help build their habitat.

In addition to the four continents mentioned above, there is also the Arctic Ocean. This ocean is located between the North Pole and Russia. It is the coldest and most freezing ocean in the world. Ice plays a vital role in the environment of this continent, as it is the primary source of water for the polar bears and seals.

Similar Posts